Reflection In The Well

Reflection in the well

A few days ago I ran into someone from my past. This person’s behavior was extremely rude and condescending. Everyone in the room noticed it. Instead of being angry, I really felt sorry for the person. I hate to think that anyone who identifies themself as a Christian could carry feelings in their heart for me that in their mind would justify such an attitude. Surprisingly, I found myself feeling downcast after that encounter, at least until I was reminded of the woman at the well.

The woman at the well was shunned and rejected by others because of her immorality. Jesus knew her story but He still loved her and accepted her anyway. I am very much like the woman at the well. I think to some degree, we are all like the woman at the well regardless of gender, yet we all too often forget that we are. If we didn’t forget, perhaps we wouldn’t be so willing to dismiss others as lost causes and continue to associate them with a past that has been forgiven. It’s sad really, how we so frequently fail to extend to others the same mercy and grace we hope to be granted; how we boast of our salvation and all that Christ has done for us, yet we dismiss others as if He can’t or won’t do the same for them. Perhaps, we could live in unity and the world could be a much better place, if only we began to examine the reflection in the well as closely as we do the woman at the well.

Father God, thank you for loving me and meeting me daily right where I am. Help me to spend more time examining my own refection more closely instead of others. Transform me, change me to reflect more of you and less of me. Help me to place my value in you and you alone instead of what others may think of me. Help me to refrain from being so willing to dismiss others. Help me to see them as valued and loved by you, just as I am. Help me to uplift, encourage and inspire others and send those who will uplift, encourage and inspire me. Help us all to love one another and glorify you in all that we think, say and do. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

About Alecia Roberts

First and foremost, I am a Christian. I am a wife, mother, and grandmother. I wrote The Pursuit of Purpose: A Journey to Forgiveness and Healing while my husband was working overseas as a civilian contractor. The Pursuit of Purpose: A Journey to Forgiveness and Healing is my testimony of God's amazing love, grace and power in a surrendered life and heart. It was released on May 29, 2012. I lost my middle daughter, Heather who suffered from mental illness and addiction to an overdose in October of 2015. Since then I've dedicated my life to confronting addiction and promoting changes in North Carolina that will hopefully save lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment